16078-1524573478.jpg

Kate W. | Charleston, South Carolina

April 13 2018 Bark busters rating

My dog Bo is so sweet to us but had issues with other people and other dogs. James has been so helpful and straight forward about the learning process. He is incredibly knowledgeable and seems to have an answer for every weird behavior we encounter. Another wonderful aspect of this training is that James works specifically with your dogs issues. I was able to call him between sessions and talk about what was or wasn't working and what new behavior had popped up! We are still working but we have seen so much improvement in Bo's behavior in less then a month, I can't believe it. Thanks Bark Busters!

aggressionjumping uppulling on leadrecalltoiletingother
15972-1522790385.jpg

Hannah C. | Charleston, South Carolina

April 3 2018 Bark busters rating

We adopted our dog, Lennie, about 8 months ago. She is the sweetest however is very nervous, skiddish and was occasionally aggressive in new and unfamiliar situations. It was to the point that we were nervous to have people over to our house because we weren't totally sure how she would act and no one wants to be those people with the aggressive dog. We would also come home many days and she had torn up her bed, phone chargers and chewed on the cabinets due to separation anxiety issues.

We found bark busters and they have been the best thing we could've done for our dog and ourselves. James has taught so much about why she is acting the way she is and the best way for us to respond to correct those actions. We, as well as our friends and family noticed an immediate change. She is much more at ease and everyone can see the sweet dog that we always saw!

One of the most amazing changes has been how she walks on a leash, I never thought we would be able to walk without a harness and with a few changes that is exactly what is happening! I can't recommend Bark Busters enough, they have made a HUGE impact in our lives and to know that in the future we can call James if any new behaviors come up is extremely comforting.

aggressionbarkingchewingrecallseparation anxietyother

Jacqueline L. | Moncks Corner, South Carolina

March 1 2018 Bark busters rating

From start to finish, we've had a great experience with BarkBusters. Michelle was my first point of contact via phone. She answered every question that I had about pricing, our chance of success at working on our older dog's aggression, and how the training process works. Happy with all of the information that Michelle provided, we signed up with BarkBusters for both our older dog and our very young puppy. James has been our trainer, and he has been wonderful. Rather than lobotomize our older dog's personality with strict training, James taught us how to work with her natural instincts to help her feel comforted by our new pack-leader skills. Our puppy has grown into a social, happy dog. Both of our furbabies are happier and calmer thanks to the techniques (which I swear are magic) that James has taught us. As a result, my husband and I are much happier and calmer, too! I highly recommend investing in Bark Busters' fantastic methods.

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadrivalrypuppy training
15795-1519310808.jpg

Morgan N. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

February 22 2018 Bark busters rating

My dog struggled with resource guarding-snapping and snarling and even biting when people got too close to certain things or areas. I thought I could control it, but I reached a breaking point and realized that I needed professional help. Bark Busters was recommended to me by my vet. James was able to explain to me on a psychological level how my dog was thinking and why she was taking the actions she was taking. He taught how me to communicate and establish control in a way she could clearly understand and obey. She responded to it immediately, although this program is not a quick fix. During lessons, it's just as much about training you to train and effectively lead your dog as it is about training your dog. In between lessons, James is incredibly supportive and it's apparent that he truly wants you and your dog to succeed. The difference in my dog is night and day and I'm so grateful to James and Michelle for being so knowledgeable, committed and reliable.

aggressionpulling on leadrecallother

Olivia W. | Johns Island, South Carolina

February 18 2018 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters has been invaluable in helping us taking control of our house. We thought we were in good shape, but after working with James just once, our household dynamic changed drastically for the better. We adopted an anxious, high-intensity 3 year old Cane Corso, and James jumped right in and gave us great confidence in our ability to gain our dog's respect and trust. James taught us how to interact with both of our dogs in a way they could understand. Within hours of his first visit, things were very different. And after continued training, our extremely stubborn husky has even learned to come-when-called! We are so thankful to Bark Busters for changing our lives and opening up a world of resources that will help us continue this journey with our pups.

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrivalryseparation anxiety
15859-1520604411.jpg

Marea M. | N. Charleston, South Carolina

February 6 2018 Bark busters rating

You can't get better training from better people. Consider them apart of our family now.

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallother
15694-1517417472.jpg

Amy B. | 29412, South Carolina

December 28 2017 Bark busters rating

We used Bark Busters when we got a new puppy and it threw off the dynamics of our dog pack. We had recently lost a dog to cancer a few months prior and we were ready for a puppy or so we thought. Having had dogs for years this stubborn puppy was unlike anything we had experienced before. When she was about six months old we called Bark Busters and they saved the day. They taught us how to take control of our dog pack and our house! It was a great experience and their customer service is over the top! We feel strongly that we only made it through the puppy years with Ethel because of Bark Busters and we are grateful for all they've done. We also know that if we need them in the future they are just a call or email away!

barkinghyperactivitypulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
15693-1517416492.jpg

Sarah K. | N. Charleston, South Carolina

December 21 2017 Bark busters rating

Simply put: it's the best money you'll ever spend on your dog. James and Michelle are incredibly kind, patient, and caring. James worked with us years ago when we had an issue with anxiety in our male dog- it took one session to open our eyes to how we had been unknowingly interacting with him in a way that hindered his ability to gain confidence and trust in us as pack leaders. 2.5 years later, we added a second dog to the mix, and knew the minute she showed some early aggressive behaviors towards other dogs and being destructive/dominating in our home that we needed to get James back over. In minutes he had her figured out and knew exactly what we could do to help her and help ourselves. Don't think your dog is too far gone or this won't help- they are not, and it does. This training is easy to incorporate into your daily life and doesn't require anything special- it's all about body language, consistency, and behavioral cues and responses. Cannot say enough good things about these guys!

aggressionpulling on leadrecallseparation anxietyother
15763-1518620378.jpg

Susan A. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

December 17 2017 Bark busters rating

Amazing - very organized, a full plan for solutions, great follow up and help. I highly recommend Bark Busters.

aggressionbarking
15395-1513263386.jpg

Kaye S. | Summerville, South Carolina

December 13 2017 Bark busters rating

We were initially experiencing Separation Anxiety issues in our first set of Jack Russell Terriers. We were so impressed with the training we received and outcome that we re-engaged them for our new batch of Jack Russell Terriers.

Having not had a puppy in 12 years, we wanted to start our pups off on the right paw. They are maturing into well-behaved pups and the effort and length of time to potty train was amazing!

Highly recommend James and Michelle. I can't say enough about the program and the training you will receive.

chewinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallseparation anxietytoiletingpuppy trainingother
15298-1511375438.jpg

Lisa K. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

November 21 2017 Bark busters rating

My 9 year old rescue, Toby had a pretty rough time for a lot of his life. While incredibly sweet with me, he’s a very nervous dog who tends to be fearful and aggressive toward strangers, and other dogs. I was always nervous while taking him for walks, for fear of running into people while walking. I was afraid of having house guests, of taking him anywhere, and most of all afraid that there would be a bad situation and something would happen to him. After living with this fear and frustration for almost three years, meeting with Bark Busters I finally heard the words “we can help”. I was amazed the first day we met with James. I was so nervous about the first interaction with Toby, but James quickly taught me how to handle it and be the leader Toby needed. After our first session Toby had a new friend and I was filled with relief and confidence that everything would be ok. We’ve had two sessions now (and lots of homework) and I’m so happy with the progress we’ve both made. I highly recommend Bark Busters, I wish I would have contacted them sooner!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadrecallseparation anxietyother
15449-1514383835.jpg

Mike C. | Charleston, South Carolina

November 16 2017 Bark busters rating

James and Michelle - I can’t thank you enough for your help with our dog Ozzy! Well felt very comfortable right away with our initial visit with you. You were there to see how our dog was out of control every time someone came to the door. For those of you reading - when the doorbell rang or when someone knocked on the door, our dog would howl and bark and run right through the kids (or company) to the door, fiercely barking frantically. We couldn’t open up the door! And when we did, he would jump out at the visitor, or just bark ferociously (very aggressively I might add). It really made for a very stressful situation any time company would come over.

Barkbusters helped us realize that our dog needed guidance. There were a number of reasons why he was doing this, and once James and Michelle taught us what we needed to do - it was a complete turnaround! No more “family room crisis” (as we called it) when someone came to the door. It is a calm and relaxing experience now. THANK YOU James & Michelle!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadother

Shawn B. | Charleston, South Carolina

September 23 2017 Bark busters rating

I can't say enough good things about the Bark Busters training program! I reached out to James and Michelle before we brought our 2 Goldendoodle puppies home because I knew we would need help with proper training. I wanted to make sure we got our pups (and ourselves) off to a good start. We met with James within a few weeks of bringing our puppies home and he helped us with crate and potty training as well as basic voice commands. He took what could have been a very overwhelming and stressful time and made it a fun, bonding experience with our new pups. He gave us the tools to help our pups become cherished family members.

Our pups are now a year old and we continue to meet with James as needed to work on new things. Most recently, he has helped us with barking, pulling and leash control. I am always amazed at how quickly our dogs respond to the training techniques that James uses and I appreciate that he always makes sure that I learn the proper technique so that I can continue working with them. We would not have the sweet, well-behaved dogs that we have today without the help and support of James and Bark Busters!

barkingpulling on leadrecallpuppy training
15126-1508238383.jpg

Maggie P. | Charleston, South Carolina

September 18 2017 Bark busters rating

We contacted Bark Busters after already having tried a training class and multiple individual training sessions with a different trainer, and were still having disruptive behavioral issues with our 1 year old puppy. Our vet recommended Bark Busters, and literally after one session we noticed huge, wonderful differences! James is caring, responsive, extremely knowledgeable, and really took the time and energy to get to know our dog, and us, individually. We've continued to experience amazing results with our dog by just changing a few, basic things based on our training - he's calmer, listens much better, and we feel closer to him. We felt desperate after so much other training that didn't work - our work with James saved our relationship with our beloved dog! We would highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone, and we continue to work with them on higher level training for our current dog and will use them again for any of our future pups. Forever grateful to them for making such a big difference in our family!

aggressionbarkingdiggingjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
15066-1506695369.jpg

Scott C. | Charleston, South Carolina

September 2 2017 Bark busters rating

James and Michelle are absolutely amazing!!! Their philosophy and training are deceptively simple but thought provoking. Within 10 min James gave us the tools to gain control over our dogs and stop the incessant barking. For us their services are expensive but totally worth it. I love these guys and will support them anyway I can.

aggressionbarkingchewinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallother
15040-1505945270.jpg

Nancy P. | Huger, South Carolina

August 9 2017 Bark busters rating

Money WELL spent! It's only been a week and our English Mastiff and I have learned so much!! Very professional and punctual too! A great teacher! Thanks Bark Busters!!! Look forward to our next session!!!

pulling on leadother
14949-1503500513.jpg

Elisabeth A. | N. Charleston, South Carolina

July 25 2017 Bark busters rating

I adopted my dog Hope a few months ago and it was a very rough start. I contacted Bark Busters and set up a meeting with James. By talking with him and hearing what he was saying, I signed up for the lifetime dog program and have not regretted it at all. Hope is an amazing dog and James helped me with the issues Hope was having. He taught me more about how dogs think and I gained a wealth of knowledge! Super professional and friendly. Always arrived on time and always available to help me out! I highly suggest Bark Busters to anyone who is looking for a dog trainer who is there for you every step of the way! They are amazing and I could not thank them enough!

aggressionpulling on leadrecallseparation anxietytoiletingother
14716-1497887493.jpg

Allison S. | Charlston, South Carolina

June 16 2017 Bark busters rating

My first interaction with Bark Busters was with Michelle, who called me to discuss my needs before moving forward with training. She was so easy to talk to and was very insightful in terms of what I was trying to accomplish with my 6 month old rescue Buddy. James was my trainer and immediately I felt at ease with him. He was very straight forward with tactics and strategies for working with Buddy and made the idea of behavioral training make a ton of sense -- that allowed me to understand what it is that I needed to do for Buddy. There were immediate results with some things that have lasted 5 weeks after our first session. The follow up session was an opportunity for me to show James the progress we've made and for him to continue helping me in the areas where I needed work. Again, Buddy responded beautifully and while we are both a work in progress, I can't believe that just 5 weeks ago, I had a crazed (but loving) puppy, and now he is calm, focuses on me and when given the opportunity to choose, is making better choices! I am pretty sure that had I just gone to a "regular" obedience training class at a pet store, I would *not* have the success with Buddy that I have experienced. James is always available and a great resource. I HIGHLY recommend them if you need help with your dog(s).

hyperactivitypulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
14677-1497023647.jpg

Kelsey & Chris C. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

June 8 2017 Bark busters rating

James was extremely helpful with guiding us on how to train our 1.5 year old pup, Huey. We came to James with issues of barking, jumping, digging, pulling on the leash, not coming when called, and overall not listening to us. James was extremely patient and met us where we were with our understanding of our dog's behaviors and the changes we wanted to see. I spent a lot of time researching various trainers and I am so happy I chose Bark Busters. We were at a loss on what to do with our dog because he was running the show in our home and causing a lot of stress and frustration for us. James took the time to explain where the behaviors were likely stemming from and guided us step by step on how to become the leader of the household with very practical steps. We were amazed by the effectiveness of the training from day 1. Although Huey would continue to show some behavioral issues and introduce some new ones along the way, James was very responsive to making sure we felt supported in tackling those issues and made sure those issues were addressed. We feel like Huey has grown so much in such a short amount of time and we couldn't have done it without James and all of his knowledge, support and patience. I would highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone who is looking to train or re-train their dog.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadrecallother
14672-1496936031.jpg

Alexx S. | Charleston, South Carolina

May 18 2017 Bark busters rating

Michelle and James can both attest - I was skeptical. At the time, my pup was 10 months old and, entering her puppy teen phase, making me feel bad for rebelling against my own parents once upon a time! She began testing me, pushing the boundaries to see what she could get away with, and showing signs of fearfulness on leash and out the window. Michelle and I had a great conversation over the phone. It ended with me saying, "it all sounds great, but I really need to see it to believe it." We set up a first meeting, and James walked me through the details of their philosophy. Again, it all sounds great but: no treats? Are you kidding me? My dog is the most food motivated of them all, and you're telling me we're not going to utilize that tool in training?! James quelled my fears, said look, let's get through this first training session, if you don't like what you see, no charge. Deal! He backed up his confidence with results - Nala almost immediately responded to him just how he planned, and as soon as I started getting my tone and timing right, she started responding to me, too. I signed up officially that day. Since then, Nala and I have been working hard together. Honestly, training ME to train her properly was harder than training HER to behave -- that's the one thing I think people need to consider. This form of training is about YOU being the leader and YOU being consistent. If YOU aren't interested in committing to that and to your dog's progress (which won't happen overnight, but will happen quicker than you expect), then you're not going to see results. If YOU commit, your relationship with your dog will blossom in ways you didn't even know possible as you both gain confidence in your communication with one another, you'll feel a whole lot of pride as you watch your pup grow, learn, and start making decisions right in front of you, and you'll end up with a well-trained pup! And everyone knows a well-trained pup is a safer, happier one! Thanks, James and Michelle, for convincing me!

barkingjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
14661-1496690494.jpg

Alexa M. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

May 10 2017 Bark busters rating

James was amazing! He played a defining role in making my French Bulldog, Sullivan, the awesome, well-mannered dog he is today! James was there for me from day 1, as Sullivan was only a couple months old when we began training. He taught me everything I know about raising a puppy and was so supportive throughout Sullivan's puppyhood. James is a complete professional, was always on time, and available via text, email and phone- which was awesome for the busy lifestyle we all lead. I cannot say enough good things about my experience with Bark Busters! :)

chewingjumping uppulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
14506-1492726953.jpg

Katrina F. | North Charleston, South Carolina

April 21 2017 Bark busters rating

Having James help my dogs has been a God send. One of my dogs is afraid of everything so he gets aggressive when he's scared. We've only had 2 sessions so far but there has been a remarkable change in him just from what James has taught us and me maintaining the routine and lessons between sessions. I can't wait to see how things go from here!

aggressionbarkingpulling on lead
14501-1492605694.jpg

Velvet H. | Summerville, South Carolina

April 18 2017 Bark busters rating

It's hard to describe the change in our dog and household since we invested in training through Bark Busters. Our Lab / Great Dane Mix came with issues because of poor socialization when he was a pup. Great with people but a terror on the leash; especially when passing other dogs. Snarling, snapping: it was not only embarrassing but a safety issue due to his size and strength. Every walk was a tug of war, even on the good days. At home, he was in charge: begging, climbing in your lap uninvited, jumping on visitors. After the first session with James, I knew our money was well spent. The Bark Buster methods James taught us changed our dogs behavior (and ours!) quickly. Every session was positive, promoting change in our dogs behavior and confidence in our ability to lead him. Not only are we able to enjoy walks but our dog is happy and calm. We are now confidently leading him at home and finding out that he is an incredibly smart dog who loves to please. James was also helpful in guiding us on how to live with some of our pups traits that will always be challenging. We've learned to adapt our expectations regarding socialization with other dogs and are in the process of picking out a second dog , with James providing great information and guidance. Highly recommend Bark Busters!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadrecallother

David B. | Summerville, South Carolina

April 9 2017 Bark busters rating

We were AMAZED at the impact our first session had on our and Penny's behavior! James showed us techniques to control her outside barking, jumping on us, and walking. These methods work wonders! We were at our wit's end before our first lesson, but the lessons we learned have completely changed our relationship with Penny. I would highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone who wants to gain positive control of their dog's behavior.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadrecallseparation anxiety
14318-1488893202.jpg

Karen R. | Charleston, South Carolina

February 24 2017 Bark busters rating

I simply cannot say enough about the wonderful services of Bark Busters and James. We were about at our wit's end with a rescue dog named Oliver. Oliver would bite us whenever he was not happy about something, would bark non-stop, would mark everything (INSIDE the house), would bite neighborhood dogs and we truly thought we were going to have to bring him back to the shelter. He was 4 years old when we rescued him so everyone told us that his behaviors were probably so ingrained, that he would never change. HOWEVER, after the very FIRST visit we had with Bark Busters there was an ENORMOUS change in Oliver and it has only gotten BETTER every month since that time. I'm so grateful that we were referred to Bark Busters. Their training program is by far the best I have experienced and thankfully we now have a dog that is pleasant to be around and is now truly a part of our family. We could never have done this without Bark Busters!!!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecalltoiletingother
14241-1486989180.jpg

Kaitlyn E. | Charleston, South Carolina

January 13 2017 Bark busters rating

James and Bark Busters are fantastic!! My dog is now 2 years old and I owe pretty much all of his training to James! He helped guide me when I first got him with basic commands/obedience, walking, and much more! This really helped me to lay the ground work with my pup and correct some things that I had been doing wrong! He really helped me to understand the way dogs think as well. With every new challenge that came with my dog as he matured, it was SO nice to always have James to go to! He helped with everything (and I mean everything)- from crate training to counter surfing to walking correctly to moving into a new home with an older dog. He also helped with the older dog as he was stuck in his ways on some things! Most recently, I called James back in for a consult as my fiancé and I welcomed a baby boy into our lives. I wanted to make sure with two dogs that we did everything right with the dogs training to help them with this big adjustment. It was super helpful- and baby boy is now 3 months old and the dogs are doing amazing with him! My dog is a pretty awesome dog and I know a large part of that is because of the training that James helped guide me through with him! I definitely recommend them to anyone who wants some help with their dogs, whether it be for basic training or for issues that arise. I know I will definitely continue using them as my dogs grow older if we have anything else come up that we need help with! 5 stars!

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
14097-1483111401.jpg

Cristen J. | North Charleston, South Carolina

December 12 2016 Bark busters rating

I work in a veterinary clinic and my manager had recommended Bark Busters to me when she heard about my Rottweiler/Pit Mix, Bubba, and his behavior. I was so impressed - It's only been about a week, but our dog has made tremendous progress! Learning how our dog thinks has made a big difference in how we handle situations with him. I am thrilled with his progress and cannot wait to continue!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallother
14092-1483020934.jpg

Erin H. | Goose Creek, South Carolina

November 29 2016 Bark busters rating

From our first phone conversation I knew Bark Busters was an excellent company to work with. We have had three home visits to date and my seven month old Rottweiler Puppy is better behaved than most adult dogs we know. James gave practical teaching advice that I am able to use daily. If I have questions, James is quick to respond to my phone calls and e-mails. I highly Recommend Bark Busters!

chewingdiggingpulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
13943-1478713794.jpg

Bethany F. | North Charleston, South Carolina

October 31 2016 Bark busters rating

James and Michelle have beyond exceeded our expectations. We thought we had an unsolvable situation with our dogs (mine being dog aggressive), and had tried a few other dog trainers and classes with little or no success. We were trying to integrate two households ( 2 dogs from each household) and thought this was going to be impossible. My main focus was seeing if and how to train mine to be less dog aggressive. I have an 8 year old female Pit/Hound mix and a 7 year old male Boxer/Great Dane Mix. She is definitely the alpha female, and he is more laid back. Both love people, but other dogs were another story. My female was attacked at a young age by another dog, and it almost flipped a switch with her. She no longer got along with other dogs (with the exception of her brother) to the point of barking ,lunging, snarling, etc anytime another dog would pass us or just pass the house. Obviously this made walks a nightmare too. I had stopped "socializing" the other one due to her lack of control around other dogs. He too began exhibiting the same behaviors, which left me at a point that I only let them play in the backyard with occasional walks. My girlfriend has a 1 year old female Pit/lab mix and a 3 year old female Yorkie. The Yorkie is a people lover and a bit of a Diva. The Pit/lab mix has the sweetest temperament and gets along with all dogs and people, but she is very timid around children. So we were at a crossroads to see if it would even be possible for our dogs to get along let alone live in the same household. After many emails with Michelle about advice on what to do (she was so helpful), we set up our first appointment. James came over and met with us and all 4 of our dogs to see if they could help. Let me just say I wish we would have called them sooner. He went over everything with us as well as different "plans" they offer. He really taught us exactly how to fix and correct all of our dogs different behaviors. Of course this wasn't going to happen overnight, but with simple commands and really taking control of the situation we started to see results in the first week. We have met with James once a month for 4 months now each time learning something new to work on with the dogs. And as of now all 4 dogs are hanging out together (still under some supervision), but if you would have told me we would be where we are here 4 months ago I would have told you it would be impossible. We can't say enough good things about Bark Busters and James and Michelle!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallother

Leanna C. | Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

September 24 2016 Bark busters rating

James was absolutely awesome! Prior to my training session, Michelle was so helpful and understanding to our situation and talked us through some suggestions over the phone. James came and stayed for a few hours with us. He was so helpful and genuinely cared about all of our training concerns and issues. He immediately noticed issues with the dog who we thought we had the least issues with! As soon as he pointed out some of her behaviors, we realized that she was a huge part of our issue. We never would have known this, and by gaining his outside perspective and smart observations, he was able to guide us to train her and our other 2 girls to take all 3 of them and a stroller on a walk without darting the door, and some awesome training for behavioral problems. We saw immediate results just during our first training session. These guys are Awesome - I am a veterinary technician highly recommend them!!!!

barkingdigginghyperactivityjumping up
13684-1472555433.jpg

Jackie S. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

August 29 2016 Bark busters rating

We worked with James and Michelle for our new puppy, Lulu, who we renamed Lucifer before meeting with them! She was biting our feet as we walked and tormenting our older dogs and young children. After just one meeting with James, Lulu was a different dog. Our puppy is so sweet and well-behaved now, and we are THRILLED with their work. Further, both James and Michelle are professional and responsive. They are worth every penny and more.

aggressiondiggingrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
13910-1478012153.jpg

Becky W. | Johns Island, South Carolina

August 8 2016 Bark busters rating

My family rescued 2 hound mix litter mates from a local shelter when they were 8 weeks old. When they reached 60 & 70lbs I knew I needed help training them! They were barking at EVERYTHING! They were jumping on my children and knocking them over. They were destroying my house. Leash walking was not even possible because they pulled too much. I was at my wits end. Bark Busters came in and trained me to train them. Michelle was patient and kind with both me and my dogs! And now...they actually listen to me and are so much better behaved!

aggressionbarkingchewingjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
13659-1472213243.jpg

Lauren F. | Goose Creek, South Carolina

August 2 2016 Bark busters rating

I highly recommend Michelle and James! You will be happy you made the commitment for your fur baby!

aggressionjumping upother

Lisa D. | Summerville, South Carolina

July 9 2016 Bark busters rating

Our neighbors recommended James and Michelle to us for training our 2 year old Lab/Boxer mix puppy named Sadie. We could not seem to break her of jumping on people, could not get her to take a calm walk (she just dragged me everywhere), and she had many other bad habits. I was pleasantly surprised to see her behavior start changing for the better on the very first visit. I was also grateful for all the information James imparted that helped us to understand things from a dog's point of view. I highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone who would like a well-trained dog and a more harmonious relationship with their pet.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadother
13296-1466081159.jpg

Russell B. | James Island, South Carolina

June 16 2016 Bark busters rating

Michelle, after a brief discussion, was able to identify the top behavioral problems our dogs were having. We had an issue with too much barking at knocks on the door and jumping on guests. During these situations she taught us to change our behavior toward our dogs in a few minor ways and the problems seemed to dissolve into thin air. Our anxious dog who was a constant barker / whiner and who never seemed to come in from the yard at night began behaving immediately after training - in all problem areas! We have older, spoiled, and stubborn dogs but the training tips worked very fast and effectively. Bark busters helped reduce the stress level of our entire household. As a Veterinarian and dog owner I would recommend them to anyone.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadrecall

Erin S. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

June 5 2016 Bark busters rating

Michelle worked with my puppy Cosette and I on basic commands and some issues we were having in the house. Those issues included aggressively barking at dogs that walk by our apartment. After just one visit and consistency as owners our dog has improved so much! We cannot be more appreciative of the training methods that Michelle taught us! Michelle is a trainer who instills confidence in her owners and their pets making training sessions fun and educational. I highly recommend Bark Busters at the veterinary clinic where I work as they are a great investment in you and your pets' relationship!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallother

Donna J. | Summerville, South Carolina

May 31 2016 Bark busters rating

James with Bark Busters is my new friend! I initially called about our 4 yr old rescue with severe trust issues. James came out and was immediately met at the door by our aggressive 8yr old dachshund mix. After we removed the dogs from sight and had a short discussion about the training program, he instructed me on how to handle that aggression and barking. It worked even before James left our house. We now know how to get Bubba's attention, direct and praise him to have a much more peaceful and stress-free home when someone, strangers or friends, come to the door. Also, fence aggression was addressed. There too, a great technique that we are using and is showing much promise! Our Macs is a totally different case in that his DNA is such that we may not be able to 'teach' trust.. we must earn his trust. But I am confident whatever issues arise that I can call James and he will give us the best tools and advice. Money well spent for peace of mind!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallseparation anxietyother
13502-1469796747.jpg

Stephanie S. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

May 15 2016 Bark busters rating

We were having major problems with leaving one of our dogs while we went to work. We were trying to create train him but he hated it. He destroyed 3 creates and it got to the point that we were scared that he was going to hurt himself. At that point we started searching for help. Bark Busters was recommended by a friend. After calling and speaking with them, I knew they were there way to go. My dog is not create trained, its better, he's kitchen trained! After lots of training and guidance from James and Michelle, we can now leave both our dogs in the kitchen, closed in with a baby gate and not worry about them hurting themselves out destroying anything!

Beyond that, both dogs have made substantial improvements walking on a leash and listening to commands we give them. They don't pull on the leash, instead they follow me! I receive compliments on my dogs behavior every time I take them in public! Choosing to train with James and Michelle was one of the best decisions we ever made for our pups!

barkingchewingjumping uppulling on leadpuppy trainingother
12867-1457625477.jpg

Robin A. | Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

March 10 2016 Bark busters rating

James is amazing! From the moment he stepped through our door, his presence exuded calmness and confidence. James thoroughly explained the methods, tools and techniques to help us create that same sense of calm in our home.

Our 6lb Chihuahua, Rey, was exhibiting extreme aggression and had bitten both of us multiple times. James gave us greater insight into why Rey was so aggressive. In a word; Fear. The tools that James taught us how to use, have proven to be very effective. Rey is guarding less, and is much calmer, and far less aggressive.

Our big boy, Little Man, is a nervous and anxious guy who was demanding and super hyper. Now, Little Man has stopped his barking for attention, and is a calm and quite guy in the house.

We are so grateful for James and Michele. Without Bark Busters, we would have been forced to make a very difficult decision. Now, we are a very happy family, with calm, well-behaved dogs.

Thanks for giving us the knowledge to be better pet owners!

Robin & Iza

aggressionbarkinghyperactivityjumping upseparation anxietytoileting
12818-1456704630.jpeg

Patricia N. | Hanahan, South Carolina

February 29 2016 Bark busters rating

My boyfriend and I had had enough of our dogs running our lives. After the first session I saw the light at the end of the tunnel! James is very knowledgeable and great at explaining the reasoning behind their behaviors. We still have a lot more practice to do with Brady but we are definitely on our way! I work in the veterinary industry and now recommend Bark Buster's to anyone having any issues with their dog's behavior, big or small.

barkinghyperactivityjumping uptoiletingother
12675-1454333775.jpg

Michele L. | Charleston, South Carolina

January 27 2016 Bark busters rating

I have a four year-old rescued Staffie, Mona. Mona is a beautiful, loving, very smart dog, but she has two problems: she has a very strong prey drive, and she enjoyed dragging me along on her leash. After a lot of research and consulting with my vet, I called Bark Busters. James came to my house for our first lesson. I realized that he was training me to train HER. After my lesson, Mona and I had a little homework - a few exercises that took less than 10 minutes a day. When we had those down pat, our second lesson involved teaching me how to walk with her and deal with any issues that arose. I'm going to paste an email that I wrote to James last week:

"Good morning!I had to report that during our morning walk, Mona and I hit the absolute sweet spot for a little while. It was right after a dog crossed our path, and all she did was whimper a little bit and keep walking. Then for a good minute or so, we were walking in perfect harmony - I didn't even feel the leash in my hand! I didn't have to look at her; she was in the perfect spot and our walking was perfectly coordinated. Even when we saw Smokey the cul-de-sac cat (the killing of whom is Mona's primary mission in life), again, all she did was whimper and keep walking. It was great!! I thought you'd like to know. Thanks! Michele"

aggressionpulling on leadrecallother
12441-1448391139.jpg

Andrea C. | Johns Island, South Carolina

November 23 2015 Bark busters rating

I called James at my wits end. I was seriously considering giving back my 80 lb, 8 month old Bernedoodle, River. I had come to regret getting another dog, well puppy that is. River and I had not learned to communicate with each other. He decided that biting me was the best way to get my attention. Biting me to go out, biting me to eat, biting me for attention. He also was quite the destructive mutt. I had to put him in day camp 6 days a week and the few hours I had him at home were miserable. I knew all dogs are innately good dogs, so how do I become his leader and gain his respect? This I could not figure out. As a last ditch effort, I called James. I immediately signed up for a year because I knew there would be several training sessions. Well after just ONE session, my bad, destructive, biting puppy, became an angel. No kidding. A complete angel. James has literally turned my bad pup into a great dog. I now no longer need to take him to day camp, he is not destructive, he does not bite me, he comes when called, he does not try to trip me down the stairs.... And the list goes on and on. I was able to put out all of my pillows, rugs and valuables that I had put away for safe keeping and River doesn't even notice them. I can't believe the change in just one training session. I am so grateful for James. He has worked miracles on a dog that I didn't think would respond. Thank you!

barkingjumping uppulling on leadpuppy trainingother

Nancy R. | Charleston, South Carolina

October 21 2015 Bark busters rating

This is the 'training fit' that I have been looking for. I have tried other training, both individual lessons and group classes. They helped to a degree, but this program, and James' direction finally made things click. It's a program that is 'client friendly'. I didn't feel overwhelmed. James explained it all so well, and I knew I had finally found the program that I could work with. My dogs, ages two and three, both are good students and they are happier girls because of our work with Bark Busters. James is such a super teacher. He makes the training fun, and we look forward to his visits. If a problem behavior comes up he is only a phone call away, and always responds quickly and calmly. I can't give Bark Busters, and James teaching a high enough rating. I would not hesitate to recommend Bark Busters to anyone regardless of any previous training they might have tried. If you are about to give up, DON'T. Call Bark Busters!

barkingchewingjumping uppulling on leadother
12247-1444066046.jpg

Cheryl & Gary L. | Goose Creek, South Carolina

September 30 2015 Bark busters rating

We highly recommend James with Bark Busters. He came to our home and provided valuable insight into our situation. He reinforced the good things we were doing and offered wisdom and advice on managing life with our wonderful and energetic golden retriever puppy! What we particularly appreciate was his willingness and enthusiasm to customize a plan that made sense for our family. Thank You, James!

puppy trainingother
12248-1444067377.jpg

Marsha Z. | Hanahan, South Carolina

September 3 2015 Bark busters rating

I am an Office Manager at a Veterinary Clinic and I can say it is totally worth the money!!!!!! Michelle came to my home and it was a transforming experience. Blackberrie is doing an amazing job. It really is training you to train your baby. Thank you Bark Busters - she is a different girl already!

aggressionbarkingtoiletingpuppy trainingother
12202-1442937485.jpg

Yvonne T. | Goose Creek, South Carolina

August 28 2015 Bark busters rating

I couldn't believe the immediate improvement my pooch showed during our first session! I am positively thrilled with the initial results. The time that my dog and I spend practicing are really fun. I can't thank "Bark Busters" enough!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadother
12022-1439385830.jpg

Priscilla H. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

July 25 2015 Bark busters rating

We rescued a boxer mix named Kailo when she was about 6 months old (that was about 4 yrs ago). She had tremendous separation anxiety and we thought we tried EVERYTHING. She was fine as long as we were home, but as soon as we left...she created havoc. Chewing, barking, crying, etc. We used a thunder shirt, kenneled her, didn't kennel her, and eventually put her in daycare for her safety and the safety of our home. Last fall she escaped out of the house after we left for the movies, fortunately, my husband forgot his wallet and we found her in the front yard upon our return for the wallet. It was then that we reached out to James and Michelle for help.

Michelle spoke with me at length on the telephone and James came out to the house to train the owners. It was not "easy" at first to do our homework, but WOW what a difference! Fast forward 6 months, and our little girl is now staying home alone (in the company of her little brother, which was a great suggestion from James), she does not need the kennel, is better behaved when walking and overall, shows much more confidence than she did in the past.

Kailo is by no means the poster pup, but she is a much happier canine and our home is much more peaceful from her perspective. We are admittedly still working with the little brother (he is 6 mos old), but I am confident that with the skills that James has taught us and the continued support via email and telephone that we are on our way!

Honestly...I wish we would contacted Bark Busters 3 1/2 years ago...the initial deterrent was the upfront cost, but had we done this before, we would have saved a LOT of money and grief and anxiety on both the human family members and the canine one.

Thank you Bark Busters!

barkingjumping uppulling on leadseparation anxietyother
12134-1441316681.jpg

Catherine & Greg S. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

July 22 2015 Bark busters rating

We are so happy with Bark Busters. They have been so helpful and so effective in helping us to train our dog Sebastian. He was acting aggressive on walks around the neighborhood to the point that we were avoiding taking him out. He also would always charge the door whenever a visitor came by. We worked on both of these things with James and were given specific tools/tips to use to continue training him and very quickly we saw improvement in both. We have really been impressed with our experience with Bark Busters. We completed dog training in the past with another trainer and it was never this effective! Now our dog is more obedient and seems happier and more at ease.

aggressionpulling on leadother
11917-1437162064.jpg

Alissa M. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

June 26 2015 Bark busters rating

James was GREAT! It only took a few hours and my dog was responding to me better than ever. He gave me the tools I needed to keep it up and I am confident that my best bud will be calmer and more respectful now that I know how to communicate with him better. Two paws up from Milo and I :-)

aggressionjumping upother
11941-1437675631.jpg

Meghan B. | West Ashley, South Carolina

June 21 2015 Bark busters rating

Being a veterinary technician myself I finally broke down and admitted "my child" needed some training. Michelle was PERFECT and knew exactly how to not let Rex take charge. What I loved the most was the customized training exercises that Rex and I could do at home as well as outside. They were so fun for both of us! Life with Rex has become so much more enjoyable because of Michelle's wonderful knowledge and skills. I couldn't give enough praise!!!! I highly recommend trying Bark Busters!!!!

jumping uppulling on leadrecallseparation anxietyother
11928-1437424007.jpg

Rachel D. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

May 19 2015 Bark busters rating

I have reached out and used Bark Busters services twice over the past 3 years. In both instances I had great success. Most recently I had James come over and work with my 1.5 year old German Shepherd who is having some fear aggression issues as well as not listening when off leash. In just 1 visit with us I saw a huge improvement in my dog's behavior. With just a few simple modifications I am now able to control my dog at the door when people come to visit. I was amazed at how easy and quickly my dog listened and started changing her behavior. I used to be very stressed out when having friends over to my house but now I know how to anticipate my dog's behavior and how to control the environment to make her feel more at ease. James has incredible patience and makes the training fun and very easy to fit into your day. With 5-10 min of practice a day my dog has made huge progress in her listening skills and she is less fearful. He has made my relationship with my dog so much better because now I understand her needs and what she is looking for in terms of direction from me. Thank you James for once again helping me!!

aggressionpulling on leadrecallother
11813-1435352280.png

Laura & Kevin G. | Sullivans Island, South Carolina

April 29 2015 Bark busters rating

We have 2 dogs at home, a 7 year old golden retriever and a one year old mixed breed rescue. We were having issues with both dogs barking all day, rushing the door when someone arrives, and our rescue was very fearful of new people. James came over twice and I can report that both dogs are now following my cues instead of their own, and seem much more relaxed. James taught me so much about leading, being consistent with their training, positively reinforcing good behavior and recognizing when the dogs are stressed and what to do. I highly Recommend Bark Busters!

aggressionbarkingpuppy trainingother

Ginger N. | Daniel Island, South Carolina

March 16 2015 Bark busters rating

James helped us integrate a new puppy with our 8 yr old dog and address our older dog's aggression when walking on leash and at the vet clinic. We saw some results on the first visit! On the second session we started the walk - it was magical. Especially since I ended my last walk with this dog after half a block and torn skin on my palm! We now know we need to continue to be the consistent leaders but behavior is 100% better than before Bark Busters!

aggressionpulling on leadpuppy trainingother
11390-1427388639.jpg

Ben B. | James Island, South Carolina

March 5 2015 Bark busters rating

We called James and Michelle because our new rescue (a 3 year old, pit bull terrier named Blue) was aggressive towards other animals. We didn't call them first though. The other company we called rejected us. Stating that it would take many months of one on one behavior training, thousands of dollars and worried we would end up having to put her down due to a possible rocky past. We were devastated but we didn’t want to give up on our new family member and decided to invest in her no matter how long it took.

Michelle put me at ease right away. She gave me some information I could use while we waited to meet James at our first appointment. James sat with us for close to 2 hours answering questions and teaching us to understand Blue. We were so excited to get started. James gave us lots to work on and Blue took right to it. The more we stepped up as leaders the better she responded. We are continuing to work with her everyday and she is no longer reacting to other dogs as we pass. We are so grateful to not be pulled across the road every time another animal is spotted. These are not the only things James taught us but these were the biggies.

Overall Experience: We enjoyed learning more about our dog and how she thinks. James is a great teacher, very encouraging and helpful. He is a fantastic support system. Anytime we felt we had a set back or a question we could count on James to lend us support over the phone.

Price: I wish we would have known Blue would have responded so well to training. We would have gone with the smallest package. So we over paid but it is wonderful to know Blue better and to be more confident in our own skills as Blue’s new family pack.

aggressionpulling on leadother
11132-1424011353.jpg

Marcy M. | Daniel Island, South Carolina

February 15 2015 Bark busters rating

Excellent results. Dolly is walking on leash calmly and looking to me for direction.

Still working on lunging at small dogs but that behavior will hopefully decrease as we get further along in training.

pulling on lead
11257-1425328436.jpg

Kristine R. | West Ashley, South Carolina

February 4 2015 Bark busters rating

For some time my dogs had been annoying me and my neighbors with their random barking and though I know my pups are harmless they sounded vicious. After one session with James I could already see an improvement in my 5 and 3 year old Shepherd mixes. In my opinion, the biggest thing that Bark Busters did was help me to understand HOW to communicate with my dogs through my behavior and actions. I am a vet tech so what I have learned has even helped me at work and I now recommend them to ALL of my clients!

barkingjumping up
11632-1432063779.jpg

Kelsey S. | Goose Creek, South Carolina

January 31 2015 Bark busters rating

I learned about Bark Busters through my work as a vet assistant. It is amazing. James came to our house professional and on time to help with both of our dogs barking and running to the door when the doorbell rings, one of my dogs would growl at people that she didn't know. My other dog had multiple accidents in the house and walked very poorly on leash. James came over and took control, knew exactly what he was doing and the things he teaches really do work!! It's mostly training you as a dog owner, which can be difficult in the beginning but now I do it without even thinking about it. All of the issues I had with both dogs are now resolved. When the doorbell rings both now run straight to their beds and stay until I release them. On walks they both walk quietly next to me. It is such a relief! If you are having any issues with your dog I now highly recommend Bark Busters.

aggressionrecalltoiletingother
11370-1427143395.jpg

Sherry H. | Ladson, South Carolina

January 25 2015 Bark busters rating

James spent 2 hours and twenty minutes with us on the first meeting to discuss issues we wanted to work on with our dog, Kacie, such as counter surfing, trash diving, jumping up and worse of all aggression with some dogs and with veterinary staff. He explained how to become her leader and the need to be consistent. We saw some results the first visit! She is much better in all aspects and muzzle training at home continues to get her accustomed so she can safely been seen at the vets. On our second meeting a few weeks later I told him of a terrible walk we went on where she pulled so hard she tore the skin on my palm and the walk was terminated after a half block. James outfitted her with a training leash and we went for a walk. It was magical, within a few minutes we were able to walk without any pulling and a calm willing walking partner. I now have a dog who is a pleasure to walk with and who has learned house manners. We still have work to do and I must continue to be consistent with guiding her but it is 100% better than before Bark Busters. Thanks James!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadother
11768-1434549764.jpg

Jenny Benjamin & R. | Charleston, South Carolina

January 22 2015 Bark busters rating

I was referred to Bark Busters by both my vet and Charleston Animal Society. When we rescued our Lab/Golden "puppy", Rupp, he was a 70 pound stray with absolutely ZERO social skills or domestication. He was basically a wild animal.

Rupp didn't know a single command (not even SIT), had never worn a leash, and had no exposure to other dogs. He also had EXTREME separation anxiety, and could not be left alone for any period of time. To say I was desperate when I called James is an understatement! Walks were virtually impossible, and we couldn't let him out of our sight for a second....admittedly, I was almost in tears daily.

This service is worth every penny. In my opinion, the most valuable part is that James trained ME to train my dog. He has an awesome understanding of dog behavior and psychology, which is really the most important part of training. James is also SUPER patient. Rupp is an EXTREMELY hyper, energetic, "spirited" dog, and he requires A LOT of discipline & consistency. James has worked with us for hours, and never seems to get irritated or frustrated (like I do). Most importantly, his tips and training tools WORK, and he truly seems to care about Rupp's progress. He also doesn't use treats as training tools, which is awesome and unique.

The other thing I like so much about James is that he is realistic and honest, which helps me manage my expectations for Rupp. He asked me to make a list of things I wanted to work on, and it was three pages long. Instead of cramming everything into one session, we took baby steps and the results have been AMAZING. Rupp is now crate trained, walks effortlessly on the leash (with his leader), goes to his bed on command, stays off the furniture, and has even started walking past other dogs without reacting. The list goes on and on.

It has been less than three months, and we have had three sessions with James. Rupp is like a completely different dog. His progress has been unbelievable, and there is literally no way we could have gotten to this point without James. Which reminds me I need to book session #4. I would 100% recommend Bark Busters to anyone and everyone!

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallseparation anxietytoiletingpuppy trainingother
10922-1421097090.jpg

Shannon F. | Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

January 12 2015 Bark busters rating

James has been awesome!! We adopted Hunter 4 months ago and didn't know he had aggression. After having him bite us numerous times, and knowing we were his only hope at a happy life, we contacted James and Michelle. After just one visit, we learned ways to handle Hunter, and no one has been bit in 5 weeks! James taught us how to be leaders to Hunter, and now everyone is feeling more comfortable. We also worked on barking, and housebreaking! I don't know where we'd be without James! We are so grateful!

aggressionbarkingjumping uptoileting

Katherine D. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

November 11 2014 Bark busters rating

James did a wonderful job of explaining why dogs do what they do. His training method is clear and easy to implement. My 1 year old shih tzu showed improvement within one day -- no more demanding barking or nipping at me when she wants something. Training takes time and patience and if you're willing to put in the effort you'll see results using Bark Busters training methods.

barkinghyperactivityjumping uprecall
10570-1415301979.jpg

Kristen F. | Charleston, South Carolina

November 6 2014 Bark busters rating

James and Michelle are amazing! James came to our home and we saw an improvement in our 7 yr old dog and 10 month old puppy within 30 mins! They teach you the fundamentals in the beginning to take control of your canine family members using words, sounds, and commands, it's awesome! We just had a newborn so we've only had one session so far, but once we get settled in at home we will definitely be contacting Bark Busters again for further training!!

barkingchewinghyperactivitypuppy trainingother
10550-1415047468.jpg

Jalane & Bill K. | Charleston, South Carolina

November 3 2014 Bark busters rating

James and Bark Busters have made it where we can truly enjoy our dogs! We got a new rescue lab puppy in July and she was driving us crazy...counter surfing, chewing, biting, jumping etc. After our initial meeting with James and the training provided, we started seeing results. The methods are logical and easy to implement...and we learned that consistency on our part is the secret. We'd had other training in the past with our other dog but had seen mixed results...we're truly sold on the Bark Busters method and recommend it to anyone who wants to control their dog rather than the other way around.

chewinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
10507-1414161857.jpg

Mairin V. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

October 24 2014 Bark busters rating

Thank you James and Michelle! I have noticed a tremendous difference in Chase already. I especially appreciate your willingness to work with Chase despite the fact that we started her training in Washington, DC and recently relocated to Mt. Pleasant. Bark Busters truly delivers on their lifetime guarantee. I will definitely recommend your services to friends and look forward to practicing the exercises with Chase. Thanks again.

aggressionpulling on leadrecallother
10385-1411477166.jpg

Brandy W. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

September 6 2014 Bark busters rating

It's only been 2 sessions, but I can't thank you enough for your help with my fur-babies!! I am especially thankful for this last session on leash walking. Since we no longer have a yard, our walks are extremely important and being able to do so with no pulling is a welcomed gift. It's so EASY now and I still don't know why I waited until they were 9.5yrs old!!!! Thanks again!!

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadother
10384-1411476560.jpg

Lily S. | Charleston, South Carolina

September 4 2014 Bark busters rating

After one visit from Michelle we saw a huge improvement in our 2yr old 73lb boxer mix, Wally. She showed us that we have to be the pack leaders in our home and out. Wally now looks to us for direction instead of leading the way. After one session, we had already seen an improvement in our walks, and in his attentiveness to us. Wally is no longer dragging me through our apartment complex, and no longer rushing people at the door! Bark Busters methods are easy and non-physical. I look forward to the day that Wally is able to walk on an "invisible leash" and I feel confident that we will reach that goal someday, with Bark Busters' training and our own diligence and determination. I work in the veterinary field and will continue to recommend Bark Busters to patients with confidence, knowing that their simple, non-physical methods are both easy, and effective. We are truly grateful to Michelle for her expertise and her obvious love of her job!

chewingjumping uppulling on leadrecallother
10382-1411417712.jpg

Ryan K. | North Charleston, South Carolina

August 26 2014 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters has been incredible. I love how they train without any reward incentives. I have seen huge improvements with my stubborn pup and gained tons of valuable knowledge. They give you the tools to help raise the perfect companion and are truly there to help. You can tell they love their job and care about getting results for their clients. I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone who wants long lasting results for their dog.

pulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
10345-1410868599.jpg

Amy J. | Charleston, South Carolina

June 11 2014 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters Works!! Having had multiple pets for all of our adult lives, when we adopted a ten month old Rhodesian Ridgeback mix to join our family we thought we were prepared. However, after she jumped over the back of the couch, ignored commands outside and wanted to be rambunctious play pals with our senior miniature dachshund we knew we needed help immediately. After Bark Busters training, the difference is like night and day. Following our initial visit with James, we felt much more confident and optimistic with a plan in place. After training ourselves to be pack leaders, we are definitely better pet owners and our dogs are much happier knowing their place in the pack. Our 50lb Rhodesian Ridgeback mix walks better on a leash than our 13 year old 13lb miniature dachschund. She doesn't pull, walks along at our side and follows our lead. It is an awesome feeling knowing the walks will be enjoyable for everyone. As long as you follow the training and instructions provided, you start to see a difference within the first few weeks. Now that we have our rules and training in place, a simple "BAH" now and then works like a charm and life is great in our multiple animal household. We highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone that needs help with any type of behavior issue or just needs some basic obedience training.

barkingdigginghyperactivitypulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
10320-1410522244.jpg

Diane H. | Summerville, South Carolina

May 25 2014 Bark busters rating

I adopted Bentley from Pet Helpers at approximately 1 year of age. This is equivalent to adopting a teenager. Yikes!!!!! James came to the house, observed Bentley and his behavior and lack of discipline and provided a course of action. He showed me the correct techniques to use, practiced with me until I was confident with what to do and gave me my home work for the next 5 weeks. James also gave me his phone number to call with and questions or concerns. You do need to take the time to decide what type of training you want for your dog and what behaviors you would like to see disappear

The training has gone well. Bentley was a different dog within about 3 days and continues to grasp who is the leader of the pack. We practiced our assignments daily and I have a chart to keep track of the things we have to work on and if they were practiced that day. There are also articles to read to keep you encouraged and reinforce what we as owners have been taught.

James returned every 5 weeks to re-evaluate our progress and tweak what is not working quite right. He adds additional work to

our routine building precept upon precept until we reach our goal.

James is always professional, prompt and courteous. He is kind and patient with owner and dog alike and always encouraging.

I would definitely use their services again.

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
10310-1410437579.jpg

Laura D. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

May 23 2014 Bark busters rating

This method of dog training is extremely user friendly and my four year old lab responded very well. James was great with Shelby and really helped tackle the needs of our family. I HIGHLY recommend Bark Busters.

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallother
10091-1405693450.jpg

Dave N. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

May 20 2014 Bark busters rating

If anyone is looking to train their dog, or get a handle on their rowdy pup, I MUST suggest Bark Busters here in Charleston, SC...in JUST 2 weeks Gunner has gone from jumping on people, being uncooperative on his leash, running amuck all over the place to a compliant, awesome, calmed down little guy. Worth every penny and minute of time. After the first session I saw a ridiculous 200% change in my dog!!

digginghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy trainingother
9907-1400625135.jpg

Taylor G. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

May 19 2014 Bark busters rating

Just a few months ago, this little boy was barking and spinning in circles every time he was in the car. He was so anxious he couldn't even begin to go into a kennel. After a few short sessions with Bark Busters, he lays down or sleeps on his own (no medication) the entire ride from Columbia! I never thought he'd be so calm!!

barkingjumping uppulling on leadseparation anxietyother
9725-1397214381.jpg

Terri G. | Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

March 18 2014 Bark busters rating

My 2 year old dog Blu was fearful/aggressive. I was afraid she would bite someone. I hired Bark Busters to help me. They worked with me to help understand and train my dog. I chose the year contract. James met with me every 5 weeks to check the progress of training and would teach me new techniques to use with her. The transformation was incredible! My dog obeys commands like come, sit, stay, lie down and go to your bed. No longer does she walk me, I walk her. She does not chase squirrels or lung at dogs as we walk. She would constantly bark at workers, people walking by and squirrels in the yard which has stopped. I found his knowledge of dogs vast and helpful in understanding our dog. I still worry she may bite, but I have learned how to handle her and not put her in a position that would lead to her becoming aggressive towards a person or dog.

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadrecallother

Jessica W. | Hanahan, South Carolina

March 11 2014 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters comes into your home to fully understand what your training needs and obstacles are specific to your dog's environment. I purchased year long service which has unlimited training assistance for 12 months. The second dog on the plan was a fraction of the price and a great deal. especially since both of my dogs have very needs since one is a puppy. James spends time addressing each of their issues and has made a dramatic difference in our lives in only two visits. His instructions about what to practice are clear and he leaves you with written directions, reading material and logs to keep your practice on track. The tips they give work within days and sometimes immediately to change your dog's behavior. Bark Busters has also followed up with frequent e-mails and phone calls and I can call them anytime I need help. It was money well spent and our house is a much calmer place thanks to Bark Busters!

aggressionchewingjumping uppulling on leadtoiletingpuppy trainingother
9382-1389984463.jpg

Dr. Michelle M. | Charleston, South Carolina

January 17 2014 Bark busters rating

I have been a veterinarian in the lowcountry for 13 years and I have had the pleasure of working with James & Michelle for the past several years. I had a personal in-home lesson with my own pets. I enjoyed learning their training methods and certainly approve of their techniques. I have referred numerous clients over the years (including several veterinary friends) who have had nothing but positive experiences with Bark Busters. Not only are they excellent dog trainers, but they give back so much to the community. For many years, they provide a course on "introducing pets to infants" and are involved in numerous philanthropic events. I highly recommend Bark Busters.

aggressionbarkingchewingdigginghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallrivalryseparation anxietytoiletingpuppy trainingother

Butch B. | summerville, South Carolina

January 14 2014 Bark busters rating

I received Duke at 4 months old. Aftewr 2 months of trying to train this stubborn dog, my Vet recommended Bark Busters Dog Training. It was amazing to see the results on just the first visit. Through James help and instruction to myself, I finally realized that Duke could be trained. I worked hard with Duke, because I wanted a dog who was happy and well trained. After a few months, I finally found my new companion, DUKE, who now was trained and obeyed much better than I expected. Thanks to Bark Busters, I have a dog who has bonded with me and is trained, and so much fun. I thank James, with Bark Busters, for his patience with me and Duke, as well as his expertise. I highly recommend this type of training - you must know that as the owner/handler, the biggest part of the success of the training is YOU, and following the advice and examples that are given to you, in order for you to teach and train your dog to the fullest. From and VERY HAPPY DOG OWNER....

aggressionbarkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecall
9350-1389403081.jpg

Kimberly & Neil G. | Summerville, South Carolina

January 11 2014 Bark busters rating

Our experience with Barkbusters has been fantastic. Sophie responded immediately to the techniques that Michelle taught us to use. We found Michelle to be a great trainer and extremely helpful and attentive to our needs with Sophie. We are true believers in the techniques that Michelle taught us, and we have gladly told several people how wonderful the training has been. We definitely would recommend Michelle and James to anyone looking for a dog trainer. They are amazing!

jumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy training

Kelly W. | Charleston, South Carolina

December 19 2013 Bark busters rating

We used James and Michelle to help us with our 3 month old puppy and they were amazing! Apollo went from a confused overly hyper little puppy to a well balanced one who knows his role in our family! He is happy and so are we :). It's amazing how many comments we get from strangers and friends alike about how well behaved and mellow he is. I love the methods used by bark busters because they make sense, are respectful of the dog, and they WORK! Thanks bark busters :)

chewinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy trainingother
9217-1385127636.jpg

Briana B. | Ladson, South Carolina

November 22 2013 Bark busters rating

I have three beautiful female pit mixes, all around the age of two (I'm a sucker for rescues). The girls are very affectionate towards myself and my husband but act unruly and dismiss our commands. Whenever I have friends or family over the house the girls jump, crowd, and pester my guests. It is sad to me because people see my dogs as annoying and they don't get to see their real personality. I have people who won't even come over because they have children and three 60 lb pits is somewhat intimidating. In addition they bark incessantly at the door and windows whenever they think someone is anywhere near the house, I can't even tell you how many blinds I have had to replace. To make matters worse, and a bit more stressful, my husband is in the military and is deployed for months at a time, leaving me home to try and control three very energized dogs. On top of that I work full time and I am pregnant. When we found out my husband and I were about to expand our family we knew it was time to do something and take back control from the girls. The problem was they were so bad it was beyond repair, NO ONE could possibly be ale to help, at least that's what we thought. I was so negative about it that I had lost hope and at one point I thought I was going to have to find a home for our biggest trouble maker, RZA. I knew I could never let one of my girls leave and knew by bringing them into my home I had made a commitment to protect them and love them no matter what. We hit rock bottom and from that point decided to change things up.

After reading tons of reviews and speaking to veterinarians, kennels, and friends I decided Bark Busters was the best. I wrote James and Michelle from Bark Busters an email describing some of the problems and my desperation to fix this. I even "warned" them that they might not be able to train my dogs. We made an appointment and I crossed my fingers.

After day one.. I repeat DAY ONE I had seen the light at the end of the tunnel. James explained why the dogs were doing what they were and how to fix it. We spent two and a half hours watching the dogs and correcting them. He broke every behavior down and educated me on how dogs think. I was amazed. I knew that if I followed the instructions and remained motivated that my sweet baby girls would be transformed. As the weeks went by the easier the training got, it all just clicked and I began to understand. The dogs and I did all our homework and found a new confidence. By the time the second training session came around I was so excited to show off all the improvement my girls had made. It was such a good feeling being able to open the door, have someone enter, and not be bombarded by jumping four legged fur balls.

I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone who needs help and is willing to put in 15-20 mins of work in a day with their precious fury ones, no matter what level of disobedience your dog displays. I thought James would be packing his things apologizing while running out the door, instead he was walking out of my house unscathed and assured it would all be ok. I was able to email and call with any questions or concerns. I had constant support. The best decision I have made in a long time was calling Bark Busters, because of them my dogs are happier than ever and so am I.

aggressionbarkingdigginghyperactivityjumping uprecallrivalryseparation anxiety

Kelli A. | James Island, South Carolina

November 21 2013 Bark busters rating

James came into our home to help us with our 3 year old springer spaniel. A very sweet dog with some OCD behaviors and aggressive behaviors towards other dogs. We had little to no control over him, particularly in the back yard, on walks and when people entered our house. After the first session with James we noticed an immediate change in behavior. Now after 3 sessions, we have complete control over him both inside the house and out, and we have the tools to begin to introduce him to other dogs. We now have a more comfortable and happy dog! I would recommend Bark Busters to anyone!

aggressionjumping uppulling on leadrecallother